LPL: The nod that sustained the selection of players

The Lanka Premier League (LPL) cricket tournament which is scheduled to begin at the Mahinda Rajapaksa International Cricket Stadium (MRICS) in Hambantota on November 26 will feature five teams, with each side having the luxury of acquiring 20 players.

Sri Lanka Cricket took steps to nominate a local brand of unique players called ‘Local Icon’ for each team with the honours given to Dasun Shanaka for Dambulla Hawks, Kusal Perera for Kandy Tuskers, Angelo Mathews for Colombo Kings, Lasith Malinga for Galle Gladiators and Thisara Perera for Jaffna Stallions and they will lead each team accordingly.

Leave a Comment