in ,

Windies name squad for Sri Lanka ODIs


November 30, 2010 (Island Cricket): Darren Sammy has been retained as skipper for the West Indies’ ODI squad for their five-match ODI series and solitary T20 match against Sri Lanka starting next month.

Darren SammnyBarbadian batsman Kirk Edwards has received a maiden call up to the West Indies squad. The right handed Edwards is one of four players who will join the squad presently playing in the three match Test Series.

All rounder Kieron Pollard, left arm spinner Nikita Miller and fast bowler Ravi Rampaul along with Edwards will replace left hander Brendan Nash, wicketkeeper Devon Thomas, pacer Nelon Pascal and off spinner Shane Shillingford.

Darren Sammy, appointed Test captain prior to the tour of Sri Lanka, has been appointed leader for the Limited Overs side as well.

Andre Russell, the Jamaican fast bowling all rounder who is currently on tour also gets his maiden Limited Overs selection.

Courtney Browne, the WICB Selector on tour noted: “This will be a very important Series for us as we look ahead to the ICC Cricket World Cup, which will be played in the sub-continent in a few months. These are the last ODIs before the World Cup, so we expect the players to make the most of the opportunities. We are confident the team will do well.”

Edwards has just completed playing for the West Indies A against Pakistan A in St Vincent. Miller and Rampaul were also in the West Indies A squad for the Limited Overs Digicel Series against Paksitan A.

WI Squad: Darren Sammy (Captain), Adrian Barath, Carlton Baugh, Sulieman Benn, Darren Bravo, Dwayne Bravo, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Kirk Edwards, Chris Gayle, Nikita Miller, Keiron Pollard, Ravi Rampaul, Kemar Roach, Andre Russell, Devon Smith.

*The Vice Captain has not yet been named.

West Indies in Sri Lanka 2010 schedule.

With inputs from WICB press release.

Leave a Comment