in ,

Sri Lanka’s Sangakkara wins three awards at ICC Awards 2012


"This is an amazing honour" – Sangakkara
By Staff Writers | September 15, 2012

Kumar Sangakkara poses with his awards.
Kumar Sangakkara poses with his awards at the ICC Awards in Colombo on September 15, 2012. © AFP

Kumar Sangakkara was awarded the Sir Garfield Sobers trophy for ICC Cricketer of the Year, the ICC Test Cricketer of the Year award and the LG People’s Choice trophy at the LG ICC Awards held in Colombo today.

Kumar Sangakkara takes top honours at glittering ICC Awards night. © Graham Crouch-ICC/Getty ImagesThe 34-year-old was also named in the ICC Test and ODI Teams of the Year, which were announced ahead of Saturday’s awards ceremony.

"I’d like to congratulate all of tonight’s winners who are all highly deserving of their awards. It’s been a fantastic evening and I think a special congratulations is needed of course for Kumar Sangakkara who claimed a spectacular three awards this evening, including of course the prestigious Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for ICC Cricketer of the Year," ICC President Alan Isaac said.

"I would also like to extend my thanks to all of those on the selection panel and the various voting academies who gave up their time to vote for this evening’s awards."

Sangakkara made five Test centuries, amassing nearly 1500 runs at an average surpassing 60, while also scoring three ODI hundreds on his way to 1457 runs in 37 ODIs in the year.

Sangakkara said that it was an "amazing honour" to win the awards and to be named alongside some of the greats of the game who have won the awards before him.

"This is an amazing honour and I’ve seen the people who have won it before me and the nominees too, to be named alongside them is wonderful," he said.

"I admire them greatly and even more so when I looked up at their records on the screen this evening. It’s great to be amongst them but now to receive this honour this evening, is simply fantastic.

"I have to thank all who have supported me, especially my father who always guided me growing up and continues to do so, my wife and children, my team-mates and coaches."

Meanwhile, Sri Lankan umpire Kumar Dharmasena won the David Shepherd Trophy for ICC Umpire of the Year for the first time.

The full list of winners is as follows,

ICC Cricketer of the Year (winning the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy) – Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka)

ICC Test Cricketer of the Year – Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka)

ICC Women’s ODI Cricketer of the Year – Stafanie Taylor (West Indies)

ICC ODI Cricketer of the Year – Virat Kohli (India)

ICC Emerging Cricketer of the Year – Sunil Narine (West Indies)

ICC Associate and Affiliate Cricketer of the Year – George Dockrell (Ireland)

ICC Twenty20 International Performance of the Year – Richard Levi (South Africa)

ICC T20I Women’s Cricketer of the Year – Sarah Taylor (England)

ICC Spirit of Cricket Award – Daniel Vettori (New Zealand)

ICC Umpire of the Year (winning the David Shepherd Trophy)
– Kumar Dharmasena

LG People’s Choice – Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka)

© Island Cricket

Leave a Comment