in ,

Sri Lanka squad to Australia announced


By Hilal Suhaib

Photo: Muttiah Muralitharan
Muttiah Muralitharan on farewell tour to Australia, Ajantha Mendis dropped. AFP PHOTO/Ishara S. KODIKARA.

October 01, 2010 (Island Cricket): Sri Lanka’s squad for the limited overs series scheduled to take place later this month against Australia has been announced. The islanders begin a three week long tour of Australia with a warm up fixture against Queensland on October 22.

The tour gets under way officially with a solitary T20I followed by three ODIs, and just five months ahead of the ICC World Cup, 2011, this is a short but important series for both teams.

Legendary spinner, Muttiah Muralitharan, has been selected for the tour, according to the Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) website.

Chaminda Vaas and Sanath Jayasuriya, although available for selection, and having expressed their interest to take part in the tour, have not been selected.

Interestingly, Ajantha Mendis and Rangana Herath have also been dropped, but remain on a list of standby players as a replacements in case of injury.

The selectors have picked Suraj Randiv, Jeevan Mendis and Muralitharan as their spin attack.

Dhammika Prasad and Dilhara Fernando join Nuwan Kulasekara and Lasith Malinga as the main pace bowling options, while Angelo Mathews and Thisara Perera play as all rounders who bowl medium pace.

Dinesh Chandimal, 20, has been selected in place of the experienced Thilan Samaraweera.

The squad: Kumar Sangakkara (C), Mahela Jayawardana, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Upul Tharanga, Chamara Silva, Jeevan Mendis, Angelo Mathews, Chamara Kapugedera, Thisara Perera, Lasith Malinga, Nuwan Kulasekera, Dilhara Fernanado, Muttiah Muralitharan, Suraj Randiv, Dhammika Prasad, Dinesh Chandimal,

Standby: Rangana Hearth, Ajantha Mendis, Thilina Kandamby, Thilina Thushara, F. Maharoof.


Oct 22 v Queensland, Brisbane (d/n, 50 overs)
Play starts at 0530 BST

Oct 24 v New South Wales, Sydney (d/n, 50 overs)
Play starts at 0420 BST

Oct 27 v New South Wales, Sydney (d/n, 20 overs)
Play starts at 0900 BST

Oct 31 Twenty20 international, Perth (d/n)
Play starts at 0935 GMT

Nov 03 1st ODI, Melbourne (d/n)
Play starts at 0320 GMT

Nov 05 2nd ODI, Sydney (d/n)
Play starts at 0320 GMT

Nov 07 3rd ODI, Brisbane (d/n)
Play starts at 0320 GMT

Leave a Comment