in ,

Sri Lanka Cricket announces new selection panel


By Staff Writers | April 8, 2015

The recent shake up came after Sri Lanka's new sports minister vowed to clean up the crisis-ridden SLC. © AFP PHOTO

Sri Lanka's cricket board has appointed a new four-man selection committee, with former Sri Lankan cricketer Kapila Wijegunawardene named as the chief selector.

The previous panel headed by Sanath Jayasuriya handed in their resignations last week after a controversial two-year stint.

The resignations came shortly after the newly-appointed president of the interim committee of Sri Lanka Cricket Sidath Wettimuny hinted that a new selection panel was on the cards.

Amal Silva, Brendon Kuruppu, and Hemantha Wickramaratne are the other selectors named in the new panel.

© Island Cricket


Leave a Comment