in ,

Murali Cup semi-finalists decided


Day 3 – Murali Harmony Cup 2013
By Staff Writers | November 3, 2013

The semi-finals of this year’s tournament will be held on November 4. © Murali Cup

St. Peter’s College, Trinity College, Dharmashoka College and Cricket Seenigama have qualified for Monday’s semi-finals of the 2013 Murali Harmony Cup.

Defending champions St. Peter’s maintained their unbeaten run in the competition despite a good performance from Anuradhapura Central’s bowlers. Peter’s made 137 and then restricted Anuradhapura to 122/8.

[Photos: Crowds flock to meet Kumar Sangakkara in Jaffna]

Trinity College lost their first game of the tournament to Cricket Seenigama, who bounced back after a shock loss on Saturday to Trinco-Batti Combined, but still qualified in their Kilinochchi group.

Dharmashoka College were also able to maintain their unbeaten record with a 23-run victory against St. Sebastians Katuneriya in a rain-reduced 10 over game at the IODR Oval in Oddusudan.

While Trinity, St. Peter’s and Dharmashoka qualified automatically by virtue of winning their respective groups, Cricket Seenigama claimed the final semi-final berth as the best qualifier with a net run-rate of +1.198, which was higher than Jaffna (+0.491) and St. Sebastian (+0.777).

Trinity College will now play Dharmashoka College in the first semi-final at the IODR Oval on November 4 at 10am and St. Peter’s College will play Cricket Seenigama in Kilinochchi at 2pm on the same day.

[Photos: Sangakkara a hit with players and spectators on day two of Murali Cup]

The most heart-warming story of the day though was a first-ever win for minnows Mullaitivu Combined Schools against Uva Combined Schools at the IODR Oval.

The match went to a super over after scores were tied on 102, but Mullaitivu chased down a target of 11 in the super over to spark off emotional celebrations from a squad that only started playing hard ball cricket a few weeks before the 2012 Murali Harmony Cup.

The Murali Harmony Cup is a T20 tournament organised by Muttiah Muralitharan’s charity the Foundation of Goodness. The five-day event featuring under-19 schoolboys and under-23 women’s cricketers is being played at venues across Northern Sri Lanka — in the towns of Jaffna, Oddusuddan, Mankulam, Kilinochchi and Vavuniya from November 1-5.


Trinco-Batti Combined v Kilinochchi Combined Schools
Trinco-Batti 101 for 8 wickets in 15 overs (MIM Thameem 31) v Kilinochchi 63 all out in 14.1 overs (N. Aslam 3-2, M. Dickshan 3-17)
Trinco-Batti Combined Schools won by 28 runs
MOM: N. Aslam

Trinity College v Cricket Seenigama
Trinity College 93 all out in 18.5 overs (C. Lakshan 3-12) v Cricket Seenigama 94 for 6 wickets in 9.3 overs (A. Thilanchana 35, U. Priyanga 31)
Cricket Seenigama won by 4 wickets
MOM: C. Lakshan 3-12

Jaffna Combined Schools v Mannar-Vavuniya Combined Schools
Mannar-Vavuniya 68 for 9 wickets in 15 overs (G. Mathushan 3-2) v Jaffna 69 for 3 in 6.5 overs (J. Janaksan 28 not out)
Jaffna Combined Schools won by 7 wickets
MOM: Mathusan 3-2

St. Peter’s College v Anuradhapura Central
St. Peters 137 all out (K. de Thissera 36, S. Dalpadhadu 34) v Anuradhapuara 122 for 8 wickets in 20 overs (P. Buddika 31 not out, J. Liyange 2-17, S. Nanayakkare 2-19)
St. Peter’s College won by 15 runs
MOM: K. de Thissera

Dharmashoka College v St. Sebastians College Katuneriya
Dharmashoka College 113 for 7 wickets in 10 overs (I. Chathuranga 40, H. Vidharshana 48) v St Sebastians 90 all out in 10 overs (U. Imantha 4-20)
Dharmashoka College won by 23 runs
MOM: U. Imantha

Mullaitivu Combined Schools v Uva Province Combined
Mullaitivu 102 for 9 wickets in 19 overs (A. Anghayan 32, N. Liyanage 3-23) v Uva 102 for 8 wickets in 19 overs
Mullaitivu won the Super Over
MOM: A. Anghayan

© Island Cricket

Leave a Comment