in ,

Jayawardene and Mathews in contention for awards at ICC Awards tomorrow


October 05, 2010 (Island Cricket): The seventh annual LG ICC Awards will be hosted tomorrow at Grand Castle, Bengaluru, with South Africa batsman AB de Villiers and his band providing some of the entertainment in what will be a glittering celebration of the great performances of the past 12 months.

Angelo MathewsBased on the period between 24 August 2009 and 10 August 2010, the LG ICC Awards 2010 – presented in association with FICA – take into account performances by players and officials. Guests and nominees will begin arriving at 1600 (IST) with the ceremony getting underway at 1700.

Up for grabs will be nine individual awards and three team honours with the ICC Spirit of Cricket Award as well as the World Test and ODI Teams of the Year also being announced.

The voting period includes such high-profile events as the ICC Men’s and Women’s World Twenty20 2010 in West Indies, the ICC Champions Trophy 2009 in South Africa and the ICC World Cricket League Division 1 2010 in the Netherlands, as well as several bilateral Test and ODI series.

The player awards are judged by a 25-person voting academy*, which is entirely independent of the ICC. The process is monitored by independent auditors Ernst & Young.

This year’s awards will be attended by a variety of players and former greats of the game. There will be several representatives from Team India as well as the visiting Australia squad along with other nominees including South African duo of Hashim Amla and AB de Villiers, Australia women’s team pair of Shelley Nitschke and Ellyse Perry as well as Sri Lanka’s Mahela Jayawardena and Angelo Matthews and many others.

De Villiers, who is nominated in two categories this year, ICC ODI Player of the Year and the LG People’s Choice Award, will perform to guests on the night with his singing partner Ampie du Preez.

The awards will also see the announcement and induction of this year’s ICC Cricket Hall of Fame nominees and India’s Bishan Bedi will receive his commemorative cap. Bedi was named in the original 55 inductees to the ICC Cricket Hall of Fame in association with FICA in 2009.

The previous LG ICC Awards ceremonies were held in London (2004), Sydney (2005), Mumbai (2006), Johannesburg (2007 and 2009) and Dubai (2008).

LG ICC Awards 2010

Short-list of nominees (in alphabetical order)

Individual Awards

Cricketer of the Year

Hashim Amla (SA)
Virender Sehwag (Ind)
Graeme Swann (Eng)
Sachin Tendulkar (Ind)

Women’s Cricketer of the Year

Katherine Brunt (Eng)
Shelley Nitschke (Aus)
Ellyse Perry (Aus)
Stafanie Taylor (WI)

Test Player of the Year

Hashim Amla (SA)
Virender Sehwag (Ind)
Dale Steyn (SA)
Sachin Tendulkar (Ind)

ODI Player of the Year

Ryan Harris (Aus)
Sachin Tendulkar (Ind)
AB de Villiers (SA)
Shane Watson (Aus)

Emerging Player

Umar Akmal (Pak)
Steven Finn (Eng)
Angelo Mathews (SL)
Tim Paine (Aus)

Associate and Affiliate Player of the Year

Ryan ten Doeschate (Ned)
Trent Johnson (Ire)
Kevin O’Brien (Ire)
Mohammed Shahzad (Afg)

Twenty20 International Performance of the Year

Michael Hussey (Aus) for his 60 not out in 24 balls against Pakistan in the semi-final of the ICC World Twenty20 2010 in St Lucia on 14 May

Mahela Jayawardena (SL) for his 100 in 64 balls against Zimbabwe in Guyana on 3 May and his 98 not out in 56 balls against West Indies in Bridgetown on 7 May 2010 both during the ICC World Twenty20 2010

Ryan McLaren (SA) for taking 5-19 against the West Indies on 19 May in Antigua

Brendon McCullum (NZ) for his striking of 116 not out in 56 balls against Australia in Christchurch, New Zealand on 28 February

Umpire of the Year

Aleem Dar
Steve Davis
Tony Hill
Simon Taufel

LG People’s Choice Award

Michael Hussey (Aus)
Mahela Jayawardena (SL)
Sachin Tendulkar (Ind)
Andrew Strauss (Eng)
AB de Villiers (SA)

Spirit of Cricket

New Zealand
Sri Lanka

*Specifically, the 25-person independent voting academy is made up of:

Former players – Ian Healy, Moin Khan, Athar Ali Khan, Shaun Pollock, Bob Willis, Sidath Wettimuny, Kris Srikkanth, Ian Bishop, Jeremy Coney, Mpumelelo Mbangwa, Roland Lefebvre.

Media – Jim Maxwell (Aus), Osman Samiuddin (Pak), Sayeed Uzzaman (Ban), Neil Manthorp (SA), Mike Selvey (Eng), Ranil Abeynaike (SL), Sharda Ugra (Ind), Fazeer Mohammed (WI), Richard Boock (NZ), Enock Nuchinjo (Zim), Ian Callender (Associate Representative).

Emirates Elite Panel of ICC Referees Representative – Roshan Mahanama.

Emirates Elite Panel of ICC Umpires Representative – Rudi Koertzen.

Chairman of ICC Cricket Committee – Clive Lloyd.

ICC media release.

Leave a Comment