in ,

In pictures: Sri Lanka v West Indies – 2011 CWC warm-up match


Sri Lanka vs West Indies, ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 warm-up match, played at the R. Premadasa Stadium in Colombo, on February 15, 2011.

West Indies 281 (50 overs) – CH Gayle 58, DM Bravo 54 – SL Malinga 3/33, HMRKB Herath 3/39.

Sri Lanka 282/6 (47.3 overs) – KC Sangakkara 71, TM Dilshan 62 – SJ Benn 3/40, CH Gayle 1/42.

Chris Gayle
Chris Gayle was in a devastating mood, smashing the bowling to all parts. The West Indian opener scored a whirlwind 58 runs off 38 balls, which included one six and eight fours. AFP PHOTO/ Lakruwan WANNIARACHCHI.

Rangana Herath
Rangana Herath celebrates after dismissing Dwayne Bravo, LBW, for 20 runs with a delivery that spins into him. Herath finished with impressive figures of 3/39 in 10 overs. AFP PHOTO/ Lakruwan WANNIARACHCHI.

Lasith Malinga
Lasith Malinga sends Darren Sammy back to the pavilion for 21 runs. Malinga finished with 3/33 in eight overs. AFP PHOTO/ Lakruwan WANNIARACHCHI.

Upul Tharanga
Upul Tharanga edges one off the bowling of Suleiman Benn past the wicket-keeper and into the hands of Chris Gayle at slip. At the fall of Tharanga’s wicket in the tenth over, Sri Lanka were well placed at 67/1. AFP PHOTO/ Lakruwan WANNIARACHCHI.

TM Dilshan
Tillakaratne Dilshan walks back to the pavilion after being dismissed by Chris Gayle. But not before the Sri Lankan opener tore into the West Indian bowling. Dilshan’s 50-ball 62 runs included three sixers and five fours. AFP PHOTO/ Lakruwan WANNIARACHCHI.

Kumar Sangakkara
The Sri Lankan captain Kumar Sangakkara knocks one away to the on-side on his way to 71 match-winning runs. Sangakkara was the top scorer in Sri Lanka’s win and his half-century, which included a six and three fours, paved the way for a successful chase. AFP PHOTO/ Lakruwan WANNIARACHCHI.

Mahela Jayawardene
Mahela Jayawardene watches as Darren Bravo takes a catch behind the stumps to dismiss him. The Sri Lankan vice-captain failed to make the most of his only knock before the start of the tournament. AFP PHOTO/ Lakruwan WANNIARACHCHI.

Chamara Silva
West Indian players congratulate Chamara Silva and Chamara Kapugedera after the pair scored the final runs to win the match for Sri Lanka. AFP PHOTO/ Lakruwan WANNIARACHCHI.

Leave a Comment