in ,

Ashantha De Mel out, Aravinda De Silva in as chief of selectors


By Hilal Suhaib

De SilvaMay 26, 2010 ( Aravinda De Silva has been appointed as the chairmen of the selection committee for the Sri Lankan national cricket team.

Although no official statement has been released by Sri Lanka Cricket at this time, sources say that the new sports minister, C. B. Rathnayake, has appointed a new four-member national selection committee.

The new selection panel which includes Aravinda De Silva, Ranjith Fernando, Amal Silva and Shabir Asgerally, replace Ashantha De Mel, Don Anurasiri, Chaminda Mendis and Vinodhan John.

De Mel, a former Test player with just 17 Tests under his belt, held his post as chairman of the selection committee for an usually long six year term.

His replacement, De Silva, is a former captain and widely considered to be the finest batsman ever produced by Sri Lanka.

In comparison to De Mel, De Silva’s international career spanned nearly two decades which saw him play in 93 Tests, making him an ideal candidate for the position.

Leave a Comment