Sri Lanka’s World Cup squad selection complicated, says chief selector


Chief selector Ashantha de Mel who is in Dambulla and Pallekele along with his co-selectors Brendon Kuruppu, Hemantha Wickremaratne and Chaminda Mendis said, “We are getting a good look at all the players but the main players’ performances we cannot be happy, the two openers haven’t done well but the younger boys are performing well.”

“With these performances we’ve got some sort of an idea and are close to selecting the 15, we have to take current form as well. But with the World Cup we can’t be taking many young players, that is why we are having a huge issue,” he said.


Leave a comment
  1. Following paragraph is taken from the article.

    -As far as one can gather among those who are likely to get the nod are Karunaratne, Kusal Mendis, Mathews, Chandimal and/or Kusal Perera, Dhananjaya de Silva among the batters, Akila Dananjaya and Vandersay as spinners, Thisara Perera and Isuru Udana as fast bowling all-rounders, Malinga, Lakmal and either Chameera, Pradeep or Lahiru Kumara as fast bowlers-

    It seems Asantha De Mel’s selection policy is good. Vandersay has to improve but he’s better than Sandakan as we need a wrist spinner in the squad. . All the other players who have been selected so far deserve places in the world cup squad.

  2. Glad to see Dickwella get kicked out of the WC squad. I was hoping for Gunathilaka to perform but he hasnt so he should also not be considered. I think having the openers as Dimuth and Kusal perera is a good idea. Hopefully Kusal is fit. Number 3 and 4 I think should be Kusal Mendis and Dhananjaya de Silva. We shouldnt bring any newcomers to this position like oshada Fernando. Chandimal has a chance of possibly replacing de Silva but Chanfimal hasnt produced any big runs in the tournament whereas de silva at least scored an 80+ score. Mathews at 5 obviously. Number 6 either Thisara or Siriwardana. Selectors might lean towards Thisara because of experience and the fast bowling option. I would have picked Gunaratne but unfortunately he is injured. For bowlers I would like Malinga, Lakmal, Jeevan Mendis, Isuru and akila.

    Dimuth Karunaratne
    Kusal Perera (wk)
    Kusal Mendis
    Dhananjaya de Silva
    Angelo Mathews (c)
    Thisara Perera
    Jeevan Mendis
    Isuru Udana
    Akila Dananjaya
    Suranga Lakmal
    Lasith Malinga

    Dinesh Chandimal
    Milinda Siriwardana
    Jeffrey Vandersay
    Dhammika Prasad

    Nuwan Pradeep
    Angelo Perera
    Dushmantha Chameera
    Kamindu Mendis

    • 1.Dimuth Karunaratne
      2.Kusal Perera
      3.Kusal Mendis
      4.Dinesh Chandimal(wk)
      5.Angelo Mathews (c)
      6.Dhananjaya de Silva
      7.Jeevan Mendis
      8.Akila Dananjaya
      9.Isuru Udana
      10.Suranga Lakmal
      11.Lasith Malinga (vc)

      12.Thisara Perera
      13.Milinda Siriwardana
      14.Jeffrey Vandersay
      15.Nuwan Pradeep

      16.Dasun Chanaka
      17.Shehan Jayasooriya
      18.Kasun Rajitha
      19.Niroshan Dikwella
      20.Lahiru Thirimanne

  3. @Suren1998 : They seem to have already picked Dimuth K, Kusal Perera, Kusal Mendis, Mathews, Chandimal , Dananjaya de Silva, Thisara, Isuru Udana , Akila Dananjaya, Vandersay, Malinga & Lakmal. Only 3 slots (one opener, no 3 batsman & a fast bowler) are not decided.

    Thisara isn’t reliable enough to bat at No 6. Jeevan Mendis or Dhammika Prasad won’t make it to the squad according to De Mel.

  4. 01.Dhanushka gunathilake
    02.Upul tharanga ( Dimuth karunarathne)
    03.kusal janith
    04.Lahiru thirimanne
    05.Chandimal (wk)
    06.Angelo mathi
    07.Thisara perera
    08.Jeeven mendis
    09.Akila Dananjaya
    10.Isuru udana
    11.Lasith malinga
    12.kusal mendis
    13.Danjaya de Silva
    14.suranga Lakmal
    15.kasun rajitha
    16.Lahiru Kumara.

  5. This team will do the job. Good Luck Sri Lankan National Team :))))

    1. Kusal Janith
    2. Niroshan Dickwella
    3. Dinesh Chandimal (Wk) – captain
    4. Kusal Mendis
    5. Dhananjaya De SIlva
    6. Angelo Mathews – Vice captain
    7. Isuru Udana
    8. Akila Dhananjaya
    9. Suranga Lakmal
    10. Lasith Malinga
    11. Lahiru Kumara

    1. Upul Tharanga
    2. Kamindu Mendis
    3. Jeffery Vandersay
    4. Thisara Perera

  6. Lahiru Thrimanna
    Dimuth Karunaratne
    Upul tharanga
    Kusal Perera
    Angelo Mathews / Dhananjaya de Silva
    Dinesh Chandimal (wk) / Milinda Siriwardana
    Thisara Perera / Jeevan Mendis
    Isuru Udana / Seekuge Prasanna
    Ajantha Mendis / Akila Dananjaya
    Lasith Malinga (C) / Dushmantha Chameera
    Dhammika Prasad / Suranga Lakmal

    Kusal Mendis
    Jeffrey Vandersay

    Nuwan Pradeep
    Angelo Perera
    Kamindu Mendis

  7. Best squad for World cup
    1-Dimuth Karunarathna
    2-Kusal Janith Perera (wk)
    3-Dananjaya Desilva
    4-Kusal Mendis
    5-Angelo Mathews
    6-Bhanuka Rajapaksha
    7-Isuru Udana
    8-Jeewan Mendis
    9-Akila Dananjaya
    10-Suranga Lakmal
    11-Lasith Malinga(c)

    Shehan jayasuriya
    Oshada Fernando
    Thisara Perera
    Dushmantha Chameera

Leave a Comment