in

Umpire Dharmasena on World Cup final controversy

Photo

When umpire Kumar Dharmasena signalled six runs off the fourth ball in England’s last over of their World Cup final run chase, there ensued a raging controversy over the validity of his call. This week, Dharmasena defended his decision but admitted the umpires had made a “judgmental error” at that moment.

One Comment

Leave a comment
  1. I do understand the pressure to make the decision. But he could have asked for a replay since the ball went off the batter and they should have checked if it was intentionally done. While checking that they could have checked when the 2nd run was completed. Good to see Dharmasena accepting the error to show another aspect of Cricket that makes it what it is……

Leave a Comment