Sri Lanka sports minister to appoint Cricket Committee comprising former players

Namal Rajapaksa

Sports Minister Namal Rajapaksa is to appoint a six-member Cricket Committee to make recommendations for the betterment of the game which right now is in a spot of bother after two series whitewashes recently.

After a meeting summoned by the Sports Minister with the Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) officials last week, the governing body agreed in appointing a Cricket Committee consisting of former players.

As per reliable sources former national players Ranjith Fernando, Aravinda de Silva, Roshan Mahanama, spin legend Muttaiah Muralitharan along with Mahela Jayawardena and Kumar Sangakkara are likely to serve in this committee.

Leave a Comment


  1. Sacking staff, hiring staff, dropping players, blame games, new committees… All of it has been tried before. There is no quick fix to our problems. You need patience and smart cricket officials who don’t panic and stay the course and stick to long term plans.

  2. Decent move to surround yourself with guys who have played the game at the highest level – not necessarily a qualification for a cricket administrators, but it’s a decent start. The real point is we have been here before and nothing happened – remember Mahela and a similar team submitted to the then Sports Minister and nothing was done. Let hope this honorable man is more honorable than those before him.