SLC withhold pressure from Aravinda committee

In what can be termed a developing tug-o-war behind the screen in local cricket administration, between Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) executive committee and the Aravinda de Silva-led Technical Advisory Committee (TAC), SLC last week decided to stand firmly on its stance to hold the next edition of the Lanka Premier League (LPL) on time, from 30 July.

Exerting more and more pressure on the SLC ex-co, the de Silva-led Committee, which also comprises Kumar Sangakkara, Roshan Mahanama, and Muttiah Muralitharan, and the National Sports Council (NSC) under the chairmanship of Mahela Jayawardene, had been adamant of forming the LPL as a different entity under a special governing body in the Indian Premier League (IPL) model.

Leave a Comment