Selectors keep faith with winning T20 team – retain 16 for Australia

Of the ten players who opted out of the tour to Pakistan only three have made it to the 16-member squad picked for the three-match T20 International series in Australia later this month as the national selectors kept faith in the players who performed out of the box to seal a historic 3-0 whitewash of Pakistan in the T20I series early this month.

Fast bowler Lasith Malinga returns as captain replacing Dasun Shanaka who led the team in Pakistan. Shanaka however retains his place in the squad. Along with Malinga recalled are wicket-keeper/batsman Niroshan Dickwella and batsman Kusal Perera. All three made themselves unavailable for Pakistan along with Dhananjaya de Silva, Thisara Perera, Akila Dananjaya, Suranga Lakmal, Dinesh Chandimal, Dimuth Karunaratne and Angelo Mathews on the grounds of security concerns…

Leave a Comment