Malinga, Perera, Mendis, Dickwella return for Australia tour

The first T20I of the three-match series between Sri Lanka and Australia begins in Adelaide on October 27, 2019.

Sri Lanka's Lasith Malinga took 4 wickets in 4 balls against New Zealand to record his second T20I hattrick

With an eye on World T20 qualification, Sri Lanka have recalled four players who missed the winning series in Pakistan.

Lasith Malinga will return as skipper of the T20 side, replacing Dasun Shanaka along with Kusal Janith Perera, Kusal Mendis and Niroshan Dickwella.

Shanaka, who successfully led Sri Lanka in Pakistan to record a rare 3-0 win in the series, will however retain his place in the 16-man squad.

Wicket-keeper batsmen Sadeera Samarawickrema and Minod Bhanuka, all-rounder Lahiru Madushanka and middle-order bat Angelo Perera traveled to Pakistan but are likely to sit it out making the way for the four seniors to re-enter the squad.

Leave a Comment

One Comment

  1. Expected but not Dickella – where is he going to bat unless he opens? I hope we don’t get in to floating him up and down the batting order as he opens or doesn’t play. This also means only one of KJP, Mendis and Dabushka can open. I thought we had enough openers and wicket keepers in KJP, Mendis and Danushka. Glad to see we haven’t dropped Avishka – we have to get the best out of this youngster before we start the inevitable in and out till your lost strategy!