IPL 2021: No Sri Lankan players in Indian Premier League this year

For the first time in the history of the Indian Premier League, no players from Sri Lanka are in the eight squads that will take part in the T20 tournament this year.

Even though the country will be represented by Kumar Sangakkara – the director of cricket at Rajasthan Royals – Mahela Jayawardene – the head coach of Mumbai Indians – and Muttiah Muralitharan, who is part of the coaching staff at Sunrisers Hyderabad, none of the eight franchises picked any player from the island nation in the IPL 2021 auction in Chennai on Thursday. “We will still have the representation, so we will be happy,” Jayawardene said jokingly after the auction.

Leave a Comment