Sri Lanka name 17-member women’s squad for WC Qualifier

Sri Lanka has named a 17-member cricket squad with superstar all-rounder Chamari Atapattu as captain for next month’s ICC Women’s World Cup Qualifier in Zimbabwe.

Atapattu currently is in Hobart representing Perth Scorchers in the Women’s Big Bash League due to commence on 14 October.

The squad which carries a lot of experience, comprises three newcomers who have yet to make their mark in international cricket, namely Imesha Dulani, a 21-year-old right-hand batter from Devapathiraja College and Seenigama Ladies CC; Vishmi Gunaratne, a 16-year-old fast bowler and opening batter from Ratnavali Balika Vidyalaya, Gampaha and Seenigama Ladies CC; and Sachini Nisansala, a 19-year-old who bowls left-arm wristspin from Devapathiraja College and Seenigama Ladies CC.

Leave a Comment