Five uncapped players named for Zimbabwe series

Five uncapped players are in the ODI side for the three-match series against Zimbabwe but selectors for various reasons have dropped as many as 10 players from the side that played Sri Lanka’s last ODI series against South Africa last year.

Kamil Mishara, Kalana Perera, Chamika Gunasekera, Nuwan Thushara and Janith Liyanage are in the 18-man squad named for the series against Zimbabwe, scheduled to start next Sunday at the Pallekele International Cricket Stadium but players of the calibre of Dinesh Chandimal, Kusal Perera, Wanindu Hasaranga and Akila Dananjaya have missed out.

Leave a Comment

One Comment

  1. I am in support of giving the younger players ago as opposed to going back to the same old lethargic players who are clearly not going to win us any white ball games. What we don’t want in a merry go round meaning for the next tour, suddenly Chandimal is in along with Mathews and Akila and we have the same old nonsense. Chandi cannot bat at the pace required, Anji will inevitably get injured and Akila keeps the bench warm with remodeled action – can’t see us competing against the world in that manner! I think the t20 WC showed that we can rely on younger players to show us the way so lets move.