Former titleholders Sri Lanka require qualification for T20 World Cup Super 12 stage

Sri Lanka and Bangladesh failed to automatically qualify for the Super-12 stage, as they were not in the top eight in the ICC’s rankings for T20I teams during the qualification period.

Sri Lanka require qualification for T20 World Cup Super 12 stage

Sri Lanka, who clinched the T20 World Cup in 2014 and made it to the finals in 2009 and 2012, will play Papua New Guinea, Oman and Ireland in order to qualify for the Super 12 stage of the 2020 edition of the tournament in Australia.

The first round of the World Cup begins next October in Geelong, and will see eight teams vying for four spots to join Afghanistan, Australia, India, Pakistan, South Africa, England, New Zealand and West Indies in the Super 12 stage.

If the 2014 champions top Group A beating opponents Ireland, PNG and Oman, they will then join Pakistan, Australia, New Zealand, West Indies and the Group B runner-up in Group 1 of the Super 12s.

In the event Sri Lanka finishes second in their group, they will be in Group 2 of the Super 12 stage with India, England, South Africa, Afghanistan and the winner of Group B.

“It is a bit disappointing that we have not been able to ensure a direct Super 12s berth but I’m confident that we will do well in the tournament,” Sri Lanka’s current T20I skipper Lasith Malinga said earlier this year.

“Everyone expected us to finish in the top-eight but we have to take the opportunity in the extra matches of the group stage and prepare well for the knock-out matches,” the veteran quick added.

The opening match of the World Cup will be played between Sri Lanka and Ireland at Kardinia Park Stadium on October 18.

Sri Lanka’s Group A fixtures

Oct 18 – Sri Lanka v Ireland, Kardinia Park, Geelong,

Oct 20 – Sri Lanka v PNG, Kardinia Park, Geelong,

Oct 22 – Sri Lanka v Oman, Kardinia Park, Geelong,

© Island Cricket

Leave a Comment