5 Sri Lanka cricketers signed for Caribbean Premier League 2019

Despite 34 players from Sri Lanka hoping for a CPL contract, only five were selected at the player draft in London on May 22

Sri Lanka cricketer Niroshan Dickwella

Five Sri Lanka cricketers were picked up by teams in the Caribbean Premier League (CPL) player draft, which was held in London on Wednesday.

Niroshan Dickwella, Lasith Malinga, Isuru Udana, Seekkuge Prasanna and Thisara Perera were the only Sri Lankans picked, despite 34 Sri Lankan players making themselves available for selection for the Caribbean’s premier T20 tournament.

Malinga and Udana, who have been signed for a top price of US$ 160,000 each, were selected by St. Lucia Stars and St Kitts and Nevis Patriots respectively.

Sri Lanka cricketers in Caribbean Premier League 2019

Dickwella, whose omission from Sri Lanka’s 2019 World Cup squad drew condemnation from cricket great Aravinda de Silva, was signed by St Lucia Stars who have also picked the hard-hitting allrounder Perera to their ranks, giving them three overseas players from Sri Lanka in their camp.

The leg-spinning allrounder Prasanna will play for Trinbago Knight Riders.

Teams were permitted to select a maximum of five overseas players each but only four overseas cricketers are allowed in each playing XI.

The CPL will take place between August 21 and September 27, with fixtures yet to be announced.

© Island Cricket

Leave a Comment