Dinesh Karthik, Simon Doull pick their team of the WT20, 2 Sri Lankan's included

Processed with MOLDIV
Veteran Indian cricketer Dinesh Karthik and former New Zealand fast bowler Simon Doull have picked their ‘Team of the Tournament’ for the 2021 edition of the T20 World Cup 2021. Karthik reckoned that England’s Eoin Morgan has been the best skipper thus far in the mega event. However, he also said that the left-handed Morgan hasn’t done much with the bat.

Hence, Karthik picked Babar Azam as the skipper of his eleven. Under Babar, Pakistan won all five of their matches in the Super 12. In fact, the Men in Green will go into the semi-final as the only unbeaten team in the championship. The Tamil Nadu-born Karthik also had words of praises for South Africa’s Rassie van der Dussen and pacer Shaheen Shah Afridi.

Would have ideally liked Morgan as he has been the best captain for me, but has not done enough as a batter. So, I went for Azam,” Karthik said on Cricbuzz. Karthik picked Jasprit Bumrah as the only Indian in his lineup.

Asalanka has been a revelation, says Doull
Doull, on the other hand, lauded Sri Lanka’s Charith Asalanka, who’s third on the list of leading run-scorers in the ongoing tournament. Doull didn’t have any doubts on Babar being the best skipper of the multi-nation event.

The veteran also picked Asif Ali and Shoaib Malik, keeping in mind their ability to finish off matches. Doull went for Haris Rauf as he felt that the pacer can give batters tough times with his sheer pace.

“Asalanka has been a revelation. No reputation at all, this is purely on tournament merit. Best skipper as far as I’m concerned has been Babar Azam.

‘Markram has been impressive, he is an option with the ball as well. Can’t go past Ali and Malik, they’ve won and finished games. Needed some raw pace to ruffle feathers and knock some helmets off, and for that I have gone for Haris Rauf,” Doull said.

Dinesh Karthik’s XI
Babar Azam (C), Jos Buttler, Charith Asalanka, Rassie van der Dussen, Shakib Al Hasan, Moeen Ali, Wanindu Hasaranga, Adam Zampa, Trent Boult, Jasprit Bumrah and Shaheen Afridi.

Simon Doull’s XI
Babar Azam (C), Jos Buttler, Charith Asalanka, Aiden Markram, Shoaib Malik, Asif Ali, Moeen Ali, Wanindu Hasaranga, Josh Hazlewood, Trent Boult and Haris Rauf.

Leave a Comment