190 overseas players to fight for 30 spots in LPL auction

A total of 190 overseas players will fight for 30 places in the five teams that will participate in the Lanka Premier League (LPL); the T20 tournament scheduled to take place at four international venues from 14 November to 8 December.

While Sri Lanka Cricket is awaiting clearance from the Health Ministry for the tour to Sri Lanka by the Bangladesh national and Development teams as well as the LPL due to COVID-19, work has been going on in the meantime to make LPL a reality.

“We are basically almost in the process of signing the agreement with the event holder IPG (Innovative Production Group). We shared the draft with the event holder and they have basically said that they can share the names of the franchise owners by 7 September,” said Sri Lanka Cricket CEO Ashley de Silva.

Leave a Comment