West Indies vs Sri Lanka, 1st ODI- Leaked Sri Lanka XI

West Indies vs Sri Lanka, 1st ODI 

Series: Sri Lanka tour of West Indies, 2021 

Venue: Sir Vivian Richards Stadium, North Sound, Antigua 

Date & Time: Mar 10, 09:30 AM LOCAL


1.Danushka Gunathilaka 

2.Pathum Nissanka(Debut)

3.Dimuth Karunaratne(C)

4. Angelo Mathews 

5. Dinesh Chandimal(Wk)

6. Ramesh Mendis(Debut)

7. Kamindu Mendis

8. Wanindu Hasaranga

9.Asitha Fernando 

10.Nuwan Pradeep

11.Dilshan Madushanka(Debut) 

Dilshan Madushanka and  Asitha Fernando maybe youngsters but keeping them on the sideline is not much of use unless they get match experience to develop as a player. Also, they bring a bit of variety into the bowling line up being a left-arm bowler and right-arm fast seamer. Suranga Lakmal is there but he is only good with the new ball in limited-overs cricket and not in death over as he is really expensive. Therefore it is time we groom new fast bowlers and for that, they need experience so I would hope Sri Lanka gives them more exposure instead of making them be net bowlers and water boys.

Dimuth Karunaratne should bat at no.3 as Pathum Nissanka is more suited to open as Dimuth has been nicked off the edge playing the cut shot when the ball is swing very early in his game too many times. Therefore the important no.3 that no player has been able to fill could be Dimuths.

Dushmantha Chameera (Rested for the first ODI if he plays the full T20 Series as it is necessary to manage his workload)

Tour match, Colombo, Feb 17 2020, West Indies tour of Sri Lanka-

Dilshan Madushanka and Asitha Fernando opened the bowling.

Tour match, Katunayake, Feb 20 2020, West Indies tour of Sri Lanka

Ramesh Mendis Batting against West Indies in a Tour Match.

Leave a Comment

One Comment

  1. My Preferred Sri Lanka XI For 1st ODI;

    1. Danushka Gunathilaka
    2. Dimuth Karunaratne (c)
    3. Pathum Nissanka
    4. Dinesh Chandimal (wk)
    5. Angelo Mathews
    6. Ashen Bandara
    7. Hasaranga De Silva
    8. Ramesh Mendis/ Tissara Perera
    9. Dushmantha Chameera
    10. Nuwan Pradeep/ Asitha Fernando
    11. Laxsan Sandakan