Sri Lanka squad for the 2019 World Cup

Playing XI

1. Dhanushka Gunathilaka

2. Sadeera Samarawickrama (WK)

3. Kusal Perera

4. Kusal Mendis

5. Anjelo Mathews (Captain)

6. Dhananjaya De Silva

7. Jeewan Mendis

8. Thisara Perera

9. Isuru Udana

10. Akila Dhananjaya

11. Suranga Lakmal


12. Lahiru Kumara

13. Sachitra Senanayake

14. Dasun Shanaka

15. Vishwa Fernando


Leave a comment
  1. Malinga in the XI is a must .KJP wont recover in time .This is not the time to give test inexperienced sadeera again .Rather go with UT and back him with confidence .Throw chandi back in .Mathews .Malinga .The team should play around these guys experience .Of late there arent any seniors in the XI and the few with experience are acting like school kids (thisara) .And theres no authority at all in the team due to no seniors .So the youngsters are trying to take the lead role in all the team discussions etc .( dickwella, dananjaya, mendis) . There should be a proper balance of quality experience and talented youth .not just all out in either one .So the team would be best served if they play around Malinga, Chandi, mathews and Tharanga .Furthermore I think Chandi should be given Vice captaincy and play at no.3 and mathews at no.6 to steady the ship . With the likes of mendis , oshada in between .Chandi being given vice captaincy would suit the team environment well also as he would be better suited to bring everyone together in team talks etc. However he needs work on his game a bit especially in rotation of strike .Hes an experienced player so it wont take long for him to adjust accordingly .

  2. Cricket Statsguru, good squad. But you haven’t included a wicket taking legspinner. I doubt Jeevan Mendis is that. My preference will be Vandersay. It all depends on how he goes in the T20 series. Furthermore you have included too many pacemen. I probably would have Avishka Fernando or Oshada Fernando in the bench as a cover.

  3. My Sri Lanka Squad for World Cup

    1. D Gunathilaka
    2. S Samarawickrama(wk)
    3. MDKJ Perera if fully fit
    4. Kusal Mendis
    5. A Mathews
    6. D de Silva
    7. S Senanayake
    8. I Udana
    9. A Dananjaya
    10. S Lakmal
    11. L Malinga

    12. A Perera/ D Shanaka
    13. D Chandimal/ D Karunaratne
    14. N Pradeep
    15. T Perera

  4. I suggest the following squad counting more on the experience (especially in major ICC tournaments) as we are heading towards a world cup.

    01. Dimuth Karunaratne (VC)
    02. Upul Tharanga
    03. Kusal Mendis
    04. Angelo Mathews (C)
    05. Lahiru Thirimanne
    06. Kusal Perera (wk)
    07. Asela Gunaratne
    08. Isuru Udana
    09. Akila Dhananjaya
    10. Suranga Lakmal
    11. Nuwan Pradeep
    Bench: Thisara Perera, Dasun Shanaka, Oshada Fernando, Seekkuge Prasanna

  5. 01. Dimuth Karunaratne (VC)
    02. Kusal Janith (wk)
    03. Dananjaya De Silva
    04. Kusal Mendis
    05. Angelo Mathews
    06. Thisara Perera
    07. Isuru Udana
    08. Wanidu Hasaranga
    09. Akila Dhananjaya
    10. Suranga Lakmal
    11. Lasith Malinga (C)
    12) Oshada Fernando / Avishka Fernando
    13) Lasith Ambuldeniya / Jeffrey Vandersay
    14) Vishwa Fernando / Nuwan Pradeep
    15) Asela Gunarathna / Jeewan Mendis

Leave a Comment