Outline of SL’s squad for the T20 World Cup

2 months from now, Sri Lanka will be playing Namibia to kick off the grand tournament in Australia, however several questions still exist regarding the squad composition and this covers a few of those.

Which players are locked in?

Wanindu Hasaranga, Dasun Shanaka, Dushmantha Chameera, Maheesh Theekshana, Charith Asalanka, Bhanuka Rajapaksa & Pathum Nissanka.


The second opener

Possible options: Danushka Gunathilaka, Niroshan Dickwella, Kusal Mendis, Lasith Croospulle, Ashan Randika

Requirements: Left hander, should get quick starts, preferably a wicket keeper

Most suitable: Niroshan Dickwella

Number 4 conundrum

Possible options: Avishka Fernando, Nuwanidu Fernando, Kamindu Mendis, Oshada Fernando, Dhananjaya de Silva

Requirements: Right hander to complement Asalanka & Bhanuka, can hit off spin as well as pace.

Most suitable: Avishka Fernando

Fast bowling AR

Possible options: Chamika Karunaratne, Lahiru Madushanka, Dhananjaya Lakshan

Requirements: Power hitter at the back end, middle overs bowling

Most suitable: Chamika Karunaratne

Death bowler

Possible options: Lahiru Kumara, Matheesha Pathirana, Asitha Fernando

Requirements: Bowl hard lengths at high pace, reliable yorker & slower variations

Most suitable: Matheesha Pathirana


Backup opener

Options: Danushka Gunathilaka/ Lasith Croospulle/ Kusal Mendis

Backup middle order player

Options: Oshada Fernando/ Nuwanidu Fernando/ Kamindu Mendis

Backup spinner

Options: Suminda Lakshan/ Jeffrey Vandersay/ Lakshan Sandakan

Backup fast bowler

Options: Dilshan Madushanka/ Lahiru Kumara/ Lahiru Madushanka

Leave a Comment


  1. My preferred squad for Asia Cup T20 World Cup;

    1. Kusal Mendis (wk)
    2. Danushka Gunathilaka / Pathum Nissanka
    3. Charith Asalanka
    4. Bhanuka Rajapaksa/ Dananjaya De Silva
    5. Wanindu Hasaranga De Silva
    6. Dasun Shanaka (c)
    7. Chamika Karunaratne/ Lahiru Mathusanga
    8. Dunith Wellalage
    9. Dushmantha Chameera
    10. Matheesa Pathirana
    11. Maheesh Theeksana

    12. Pathum Nissanka
    13. Dananjaya De Silve
    14. Lahiru Madushanga
    15. Jeffrey Vandersay
    16. Asitha Fernando
    17. Biruna Fernando/ Dilshan Madushanga

    Note: I personally include Angelo Mathews to bat at no 4. I don’t think selectors would go with him.

  2. 1)Kusal mendis
    2)Dhanushka Gunathilaka
    3)Charith asalanka
    4)Dinesh chandimal(wk)
    5)Bhanuka rajapaksha
    6)Dasun Shanaka
    7) wanidu Hasaranga
    8) Chamika karunarathne
    9)dushmantha chameera
    10) Maheesh theekshana
    11) Lahiru Kumara/Asitha fernando/Dilshan Madushanka