My Sri Lanka Test Squad for Bangladesh series

The newly appointed selection committee which is headed by Pramodya Wickramasinghe first task will be picking up a test squad for the Bangladesh test series which is going to start on the April 21st. Since the current Bangladesh team mainly dominated by the spin bowlers as they do not have a good fast bowling line up we must arrange pitches which is suited for more fast bowlers. SLC made the right choice by picking the Pallekale stadium to host these two test series as Pallekale will be the most suited for the fast bowlers in the country. Compared to spin bowlers we have a good fast bowling stock currently as well.

In addition we also have a major blow to our side with ace spinner Lasith Embuldeniya has been out of this test series. Since Lasith is injured we must give a chance to young Duvindu Thilakarathna and see. We must not go back to tried and tested old spinners like Dilruwan Perera and Malinda Pushpakumara again.

The following is a squad that Pramodya Wickramasinghe and co should closely looking at.

Playing XI

1. Dimuth Karunarathna

2. Lahiru Thirimanne

3. Pathum Nissanka

4. Kusal Mendis

5. Anjelo Mathews

6. Dhananjaya De Silva

7. Niroshan Dickwella – WK

8. Suranga Lakmal

9. Duvindu Thilakarathna

10. Dushmantha Chameera

11. Vishwa Fernando

Other Squad Members

12. Lahiru Kumara

13. Asitha Fernando

14. Wanindu Hasaranga

15. Dasun Shanaka

16. Oshadha Fernando

17. Praveen Jayawickrama

18. Nishan Peiris

Leave a Comment