Sri Lanka opening batsman Danushka Gunathilaka

It’s been very bad journey in our cricket field since last World Cup compare to our history of Cricket as small nation. As of today we don’t know who is our final 15 for the biggest event in Cricket, also funny to know we don’t know who will be our WC Captain. But can we put all the blames on players? No, 75% of responsibility should get cricket administrators, selecting committees held from WC 2015 to date. Also highly paid coaches as well.

Let’s concentrate about my Title, Must selected 15 Player Squad for WC 19. First of all I’m not going to select players based on performance on so badly arranged super 4 provincial tournament, Since our first WC match we will be going to play after 45 days almost as of today. So who will guaranteed whoever performed in Super 4 provincial tournament will be put better performance in WC in that period specially in England. Therefore we need to analyse almost 6 months to 1 year performance when you select the players, also we need to count experience, players who played in foreign conditions & big tournament, also talented youth as well.

My Players for the WC 19 as follow;

Opener 1 – Danushka Gunathilake (Better strike rate/ can hit over the park/ Best fielder in the team/Good Part time spinner( someone like Dilshan)

Opener 2- Dananjaya De Silva (Better stroke maker/ Can build long inning/ Better Part time spinner)

No. 3- Dimuth Karunaratne (Some one can do Sanga’s role in the team / Can build long inning/ Better stroke player) (Also my Captain)

No.4- Kusal Mendis (Well talented youth/ Better stroke maker)

No.5- Angelo Mathews (Best in the team/ Not required explanations)

No.6- Dinesh Chandimal (WK) (Experience team player/ who can bat with low order/ already he has proven this in his most of test appearances/ he can hit the ball if given free license)

No.7- Kusal Perera (Power hitter who can do similar job as doing by other countries No.07 with the old ball) (But only if he is fit) Otherwise I’m preferring to this position No. 12- Niroshan Dikwella (even he is in bad form currently, but in the past one of the best batsman performed internationally in the team, surely he will perform if given chance in this place)

No.8- Thisara Perera (Big hitter/ Allrounder) No.13 Isuru Udana (If thisara failed)

No. 9- Akila Dananjaya (Spin Bowler) No. 14- Sachithra Senanayake (Spin Bowler with experience,can bat)

No.10- Suranga Lakmal (Fast Bowler) No. 15- Kasun Rajitha (Fast Bowler)

No.11- Lasith Malinga (Fast Bowler)

Also i considered all the playing positions with left right combination when I’m selecting the players, it’s very important in big tournament. Will see if selectors will use their better mind we will have fully of talented this squad who can beat any team in their day. Hope for the best.

Standby 5 Players:

Lahiru Thirimanne

Jeewan Mendis

Dushamantha Chameera

Upul Tharanga

Nuwan Pradeep

Leave a Comment