Abu Dhabi T10's New York Strikers Enters Lanka Premier League as Colombo Strikers

The New York Strikers, who finished as runners-up in their

first season of the Abu Dhabi T10 last year, announced today that they have

acquired a franchise in the exciting Lanka Premier League, which will be called

Colombo Strikers. The franchise, owned by Sagar Khanna, has joined Kandy

Falcons, Jaffna Kings, Galle Gladiators and Dambulla Aura in the five-team


Sagar Khanna, who owns the Skky Group – a leader in various sectors such as

hospitality, retail stores and real estate – made his first foray into cricket by co-

founding the New York-based cricket franchise Skky Strikers. Later, he went on to

become the sole owner of the franchise. The Skky Strikers witnessed fantastic

results in several tournaments in the United States of America before the franchise

made its way to Abu Dhabi and Sri Lanka.

Speaking about expanding the franchise’s operations in Sri Lanka, Khanna said, “We

have formed a strong connection with our fans in the US and Abu Dhabi and we

cannot wait to do the same with the cricket-crazy people of Colombo. The cricket

culture in the city and our brand of cricket will certainly make for a very exciting

combination. We are eager to bring the indomitable spirit of the Strikers to the cricket

fans in Colombo.”

The Colombo Strikers will be in action in the fourth edition of the Lanka Premier

League. The tournament is slated to be held in July-August 2023.

Leave a Comment