3rd ODI Sri Lanka vs India- Sri Lanka XI (Official Announcement)(Update)

India vs Sri Lanka

Likely Sri Lanka XI-

Sri Lanka will increase their batting depth so that when Chamika Karunaratne comes in around 40-45 over, they can be more aggressive to get 300+. This also relieves some pressure off the Top-Order so they can play freely since the batting goes all the way down to no.10.

Sri Lanka will be trying some players out before the T20 series since they lost the series, especially Ishan Jayaratne, the leading wicket-taker in both ODI and T20 domestic tournaments in sub-continental countries like Sri Lanka. Then Dhananjaya Lakshan had probably been working very closely with Chaminda Vaas to improve his line and length and his in-swing. So will fit in, and the only weak point in the batting even though they have not scored big is Bhanuka Rajapaksa, who looks to be in the T20 mindset, which is not good in the ODI in the long run and since Dhananjaya Lakshan has primarily been an opener in under19 and domestic cricket it is familiar role. Because the alternative is to bring in Lahiru Udara or Pathum Nissanka, both of who are better suited for Test Formant. 

Lakshan Sandakan is the real culprit for Sri Lanka losing the 2nd ODI and will be replaced by either Akila Dananjaya or Ramesh Mendis since Dasun Shanka favours it for Left-Handers. But Ramesh Mendis has the lead as he is a genuine Batsman who can ball with a good turn of the ball. Akila Dananjaya can ball leg-spin and off-spin, but after re-modelling his action, the amount of turn has reduced significantly, and he will probably need to work on it more before playing.

Sri Lanka is unlikely to mess with the batting line-up. If any players are replaced, they will slot straight into the position they are replacing.

1.Minod Bhanuka (Wicket-Keeper)

2.Avishka Fernando

3.Dhananjaya Lakshan (60% likely and 40% Unlikely than Bhanuka Rajapaksa)

4.Dhananjaya de Silva (Vice-Captain)

5.Charith Asalanka

6.Dasun Shanaka (Captain)

7.Chamika Karunaratne

8.Wanindu Hasaranga / Praveen Jayawickrama (If Wanindu is Rested)

9.Ramesh Mendis (Confirmed Replacement)

10.Ishan Jayaratne(Debut) (45% Likely or 35% Unlikely than Asitha Fernando or 20% other)

11.Dushmantha Chameera

Injured Players

Kasun Rajitha (Injured)

Wanindu Hasaranga(minor injury) 

Kusal Perea (Shoulder Injury)

Binura Fernando (Ankle Injury)

Sri Lanka Squad for India Series – Dasun Shanaka (Captain), Dhananjaya De Silva (VC), Avishka Fernando, Pathum Nissanka, Charith Asalanka, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Minod Bhanuka, Lahiru Udara, Ashen Bandara, , Ramesh Mendis, Praveen Jayawickrama, Akila Dananjaya, Lakshan Sandakan, Chamika Karunaratne, Dhananjaya Lakshan, Binura Fernando, , Kasun Rajitha, Dushmantha Chameera, Lahiru Kumara, Isuru Udana, Shiran Fernando, Asitha Fernando

Leave a Comment