3 opening combinations Sri Lanka can try for 2020 T20 WC

Sri Lanka opening batsman Danushka Gunathilaka

Danushka Gunathilaka & Kusal Mendis

Having Danushka at the top is a no-brainer considering his ability to take on the bowlers in this format. Kusal showed his class during the NZ T20s which shows that he is suited at the top for the shorter format.

Danushka Gunathilaka & Avishka Fernando

Avishka is yet to get off to a flyer in T20s but we should utilise him well for him to get settled in the side. One thing management should do is give him a stable position in the batting order. Shouldn’t be a toss up with no.3 as he is a natural opener.

Kusal Mendis and Shehan Jayasuriya

Shehan is someone who can attack in the powerplay. In ODIs he can bat at 5 or 6, but in T20 he should bat in top 3. Also gives the extra bowling option so we can easily play 6-7 bowlers.

Leave a Comment


  1. I think for the T 20 WC we must go with Danushka / Kusal Mendis combination. Our second option can be Danushka / Avishka. However Avishka has not yet performed well as an opener yet & at the moment he is having a lean patch and that was obvious when you look back at the way how he approached the last few ODI / T20 matches. These things happen to any top class batsman and the selectors should not penalized him for that but should continue with him (as an opener) in the next 2 T 20 matches also. That will help him to regain his true form as an attacking top order batsman. Another advantage of doing that is, due to the nature of the wickets prepared by Pakistan for these matches. There are no demons whatsoever in the wickets that help the opening seam bowlers. So the opening batsmen has the best of platforms to play their attacking shots. It will help Avishka to regain his form during the coming two matches.

    I do not think Shen Jayasuriya is yet ready to be tried as an opening batsman for T 20 matches. Let us move on with Danushka / Avishka now and Danushka / Kusal Mendis later as the best option.

  2. I would like to have following squad T20 world cup 2020

    1. Danushka Gunathilaka
    2. Kusal Mendis
    3. MDKJ Perera
    4. Angelo Mathews
    5. Dasun Shanaka (vc)
    6. Bhanuka Rajapakse
    7. Hasaranga de Silva
    8. Isuru Udana
    9. Lasith Malinga (c)
    10. Lakshan Sandakan
    11. Nuwan Pradeep

    12. Kasun Rajitha
    13. Avishka Fernando
    14. Lahiru Kumara
    15. Dhushmantha Chameera
    16. Minod Bhanuka