2nd ODI Sri Lanka vs India- Sri Lanka XI (Official Announcement)

Dhananjaya Lakshan
CARDIFF, WALES - JUNE 21: Dhananjaya Lakshan of Sri Lanka poses during a portrait session at Sophia Gardens on June 21, 2021 in Cardiff, Wales. (Photo by Pat Elmont - ECB/ECB via Getty Images)

Sri Lanka XI-

1st ODI

Powerplay 1(1-10 overs)- Run Rate has been Less than 5.5 (Needs to be around 6-7 Run Rate)

Powerplay 2 (11-40 Overs)- Run Rate has been Less than 4.3 (Needs to be around 5-6 Run Rate)

Powerplay 3 (41-50 Overs)- Run Rate has been Less than 7 (Needs to be around 7-8 Run Rate)

1.Bhanuka Rajapaksa (He has shown how he can be explosive on his debut match and that is what is needed in the 1st Powerplay)

2.Avishka Fernando (Tillakaratne Dilshan For the Team)(Need to be careful of Shot Selection)

3.Minod Bhanuka (Wicket-Keeper)(Kumar Sangakkara For the Team) (Needs more games and Confidence) 

4.Dhananjaya de Silva (Vice-Captain)(Mahela Jayawardene For the Team)(Needs to rotate strike more)

5.Dhananjaya Lakshan (Angelo Mathews For the Team)(Needs to be given more opportunity and open the bowling and bat higher up the order as he is an opening batsman in the domestic circuit so he should bat at least no.5, not no.7 or no.8.

6.Dasun Shanaka (Captain)

7.Wanindu Hasaranga

8.Chamika Karunaratne

9.Ishan Jayaratne(Debut)

10.Praveen Jayawickrama / Ramesh Mendis (Ramesh Mendis bowl well against Bangladesh and  didn`t bowl against England under Kusal Perea Captaincy deserved a chance ahead of  Lakshan Sandakan)

11.Dushmantha Chameera 

Bowling Order-

1.Dhananjaya Lakshan (Swing Bowler essential for opening the bowling)

2.Ishan Jayaratne(Debut) (Experienced bowler in the Domestic circuit)

3.Dushmantha Chameera (Shown he is expressive in the middle overs and death overs but not opening the bowling on the West-Indies & Bangladesh and England Tour.)

4.Wanindu Hasaranga ( Aggressive Spinner to attack in the middle-Overs)

5.Praveen Jayawickrama / Ramesh Mendis ( Economically Spinner to put the Pressure in the middle-Overs)

6.Chamika Karunaratne ( A seam  bowler  in the middle overs )

Injured Players

Kusal Perea (Shoulder Injury)

Binura Fernando (Ankle Injury)

Sri Lanka Squad for India Series – Dasun Shanaka (Captain), Dhananjaya De Silva (VC), Avishka Fernando, Pathum Nissanka, Charith Asalanka, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Minod Bhanuka, Lahiru Udara, Ashen Bandara, Wanindu Hasaranga, Ramesh Mendis, Praveen Jayawickrama, Akila Dananjaya, Lakshan Sandakan, Chamika Karunaratne, Dhananjaya Lakshan, Binura Fernando, Ishan Jayaratne, Kasun Rajitha, Dushmantha Chameera, Lahiru Kumara, Isuru Udana, Shiran Fernando, Asitha Fernando

Leave a Comment


  1. We need to align batters per modern-day cricket and bowlers per the condition.
    My IX for 2nd ODI
    1. Avishka – Attack in power play
    2. Bhanuka – Attack in power play
    3. Dananjaya – Anchor the innings
    4. Dasun – Attack in 2nd power play
    5. Hasaranga – Attack in 2nd power play
    6. Minod (WK) – Anchor the innings
    7. Ramesh / Dananjaya Lakshan – Attack in 3rd power play
    8. Chamika – Attack in 3rd power play
    9. Akila
    10. Dushmantha
    11. Lahiru Kumara