The numbers from 2010

Twenty-ten was a quiet year in terms of statistical highlights and records for Sri Lanka. It pales in comparison to 2009, where Sri Lanka recorded a massive 465-run win against Bangladesh in a Test, a massive 202 run win against New Zealand (also in Tests) and two Sri Lankan batsmen – Samaraweera and Jayawardene – topped the list for the most runs in Test cricket for the year.

Sri Lanka’s 642/4d against India at the SSC in Colombo was the third highest Test total of this year. India’s 643/6d against South Africa in Kolkata and their 707/all-out against Sri Lanka at the SSC in July tops the list for the highest Test totals of 2010.

Sri Lanka registered the largest T20 defeat of the year when they lost to Australia by 81 runs, chasing 169 to win in Barbados during the ICC WT20.

Suraj Randiv’s 2/222 against India at the SSC this July is the most expensive Test bowling figures in an innings in 2010.

On a brighter note, with a batting average of 114.25 from six Tests, Thilan Samaraweera recorded the highest batting average of the year. Sangakkara is next with a batting average of 99.28. The Sri Lankan skipper made three centuries and two fifties this year.

Sangakkara’s 27 catches and four stumpings as wicket-keeper in ODIs puts him in second place behind Brad Haddin for most dismissals by a keeper in ODIs for the year.

Tillakaratne Dilshan is the fourth highest ODI run scorer in 2010 thanks to 921 runs from 20 matches (three centuries and four fifties).

After scoring 343 runs in nine T20 matches, Jayawardene is fifth on the list of highest run scorers in T20s for the year.

Sangakkara scored the most runs for the year by a Sri Lankan in Tests. He finished the year with 695 runs. The Sri Lankan skipper’s 219 against India in the second Test at the SSC in July is the highest Test score by a Sri Lankan this year.

Upul Tharanga’s 118 not out against India at the Shere Bangla National Stadium in January is the highest ODI score by a Sri Lankan in 2010. Dinesh Chandimal’s 111 against India in Harare is the second highest score.

With a rare T20 century against Zimbabwe during the ICCWT20, Jayawardene tops the list for the highest scores of the year in T20s by a Sri Lankan.

Kumar Sangakkara with three Test centuries and Tharanga Paranavitana with two, top the list for the most Test centuries in the year for Sri Lanka.

Dilshan’s three centuries in 2010 sets him apart from all other Sri Lankans in the ODI format, he tops the list for the most ODI centuries for the year by a Sri Lankan.

With 17 Test wickets from just five matches, Ajantha Mendis is Sri Lanka’s highest wicket taker in Test cricket for 2010. Randiv’s 14 wickets in only three Tests places him at second place on that list.

Thisara Perera tops the list for the most ODI wickets by a Sri Lankan bowler with 22 wickets in 13 matches.

Malinga’s 11 wickets from nine T20 matches makes him Sri Lanka’s most successful bowler in T20s for the year.

Leave a Comment