Sri Lanka Named Preliminary Squad For West Indies Tour

Preliminary Squad :

1.   Dinesh Chandimal (Captain)
2.   Angelo Mathews
3.   Kusal Perera (Wicket-Keeper)
4.   Kusal Mendis
5.   Mahela Udawatte
6.   Roshen Silva
7.   Niroshan Dickwella (Wicket-Keeper)

1.Dasun Shanaka
2.Dhananjaya De Silva

1.Rangana Herath
2.Jeffrey Vandersay
3.Lakshan Sandakan
4.Akila Dhananjaya
5.Dliwaran Perea

1. Suranga Lakmal
2. Lahiru Gamage
3. Lahiru Kumara
4. Shehan Madushanka
5. Kasun Rajitha
6. Asitha Fernando
7. Nisala Tharaka

Five young players who have been called up on the recommendation of Head Coach Chandika Hathurusingha-
Likely Players to have been selected by Chandika Hathurusingha
1.Hasitha Boyagoda (After seeing him perform big scores in the under 19 world cup)
2.Wanindu Hasaranga (After seeing his ability with ball and bat)
3.Pathum Nissanka (After seeing him hit that 188* not out)
4.Charith Asalanka (Possible Future Captain of Sri Lanka, therefore, Chandika Hathurusingha maybe wanting to mold/nurture him for the future.
5. Mohomed Dilshad (Left arm fast quick is rare in Sri Lanka and after seeing him dismiss national players with big in-swing bowling it may fast-track him into the national team for the West Indies Tour)

Sri Lanka has named Mahela Udawatte and Niroshan Dickwella in the 21-members Preliminary squad for the test series against West Indies, According to reliable sources. In yet to be officially announced squad, Angelo Mathews has returned, after missing Tests in Bangladesh and Nidahas trophy due to injury. However, Selectors have not included Opener Dimuth Karunaratne, who sustained a finger injury during net sessions last week.

Fast bowlers Shehan Madushanka, Kasun Rajitha, Asitha Fernando and Nisala Tharaka has also been included in the squad.

The Preliminary squad will start training in Kandy in the high-performance center for a week starting from 9th of May till 16th May. The squad will be reduced to 15 before departure for the three-Test tour.

Sri Lanka to play three tests against West Indies. The tour will kick off on May 30 with a tour match at Tarouba, while the first test to be played at Port Of Spain From June 6.

Leave a Comment