Sri Lanka Cricket’s underhand tactics prevented at CEAT Cricket Awards

Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) has changed it’s mind – last minute – and will not felicitate a group of individuals at the CEAT Sri Lanka Cricket Awards, 2010, according to a LakbimaNews exclusive.

The paper says on it’s website that the plan was to hand out the awards/felicitations (including Rs. 200,000 for each award) to a select group of people who also have influence in the cricket clubs in Sri Lanka.

Someday when elections take place to replace this current interim committee, which was appointed by the government after Ranatunga’s sacking, those bribed with awards and prize money at this year’s CEAT Awards will return the favour by voting for the unscrupulous.

The following is from LakbimaNews:

The ceremony which is sponsored by CEAT Sri Lanka and organized by the SLC is to be held at Water’s Edge Battaramulla, at 7.00 pm, on Monday (Oct 4).

Five former cricketers selected are Jayantha Seneviratne (best batsman), Neil Chanmugam (best bowler), Shelly Wickremasinghe (best administrator), Nelson Mendis (best coach) and Premasiri Epasinghe (best journalist), respectively.

Many see the move as an interim committee conspiracy to dole out money to club representatives in order to get their votes in a possible future election.

This move to felicitate the former players had been shelved by the SLC IC as a result of severe pressure brought against the rest of the Interim Committee by two of its members who had seen the injustice about to be meted out to the deserving lot.

“The best and deserved should always get the credit and not a bunch of jokers, and just imagine how insulting it would be to choose Jayantha Seneviratne as the best batsman ever produced by this country,” a former All-Ceylon player speaking on condition of anonymity explained.

He added that due to the presence of two other persons of the SLC IC who had a backbone and a spine to object to a serious injustice being done to the very image of the game here, it had prompted the DS de Silva-led Interim Committee to shelve the segment to felicitate the former players.

When contacted a source for CEAT Sri Lanka the sponsor of the tamasha tomorrow evening said that his firm was totally unaware of the issue in question and affirmed that their responsibility lies only with the sponsorship of the show.

He observed that his firm also was never in the habit of giving cash with the awards which is now into its second year, hence he was unable to comment on who had mooted the idea of rewarding past players with the cash.

Even the invitations which had been sent to the respective club heads had not been done in keeping with the accepted protocol with some club’s seeing both their president and secretary being invited.

Some clubs have had only the president being invited with some other club team captains also being overlooked.

Leave a Comment