Official 20-man squad selected for the three-match T20 series against India


1. Danushka Gunathilaka(Left-Hand Batsman)
2. Sadeera Samarawickrama(Right-Hand Batsman)
3. Niroshan Dickwella (Left-Hand Batsman)(Wicket-keeper)
4. Upul Tharanga (Left-Hand Batsman)
5. Angelo Mathews (Batting All-Rounder)(Right-Hand Batsman)(Right-Arm Medium)
6. Asela Gunaratne (Batting All-Rounder)(Right-Hand Batsman)(Right-Arm Off-Spin)
7. Thisara Perera (Bowling All-Rounder)(Left-Hand Batsman)(Right-Arm Medium)(Captain)
8. Sachith Pathirana(Bowling All-Rounder)(Left-Hand Batsman)(Slow left-arm orthodox)
9. Akila Dananjaya(Bowling All-Rounder)(Left-Hand Batsman)(Right-Arm Off/Leg-Spin)
10.Nuwan Pradeep (Righ-Arm Fast-Medium)
11.Dushmantha Chameera (Right-Arm Fast)
12.Lasith Malinga(Right-Arm Fast-Medium)
13. Kusal Perera (Left-Hand Batsman)
14. Chaturanga de Silva (Slow left-arm orthodox)
15. Lahiru Thirimanne(Left-Hand Batsman)
16. Dhananjaya de Silva (All-Rounder)(Right-Hand Batsman)(Right-Arm Off-Spin)
17. Jeewan Mendis(Bowling All-Rounder)(Left-Hand Batsman)(Right-Arm Leg-Spin)
18.  Dasun Shanaka (Batting All-Rounder)(Right-Hand Batsman)(Right-Arm Medium)
19.  Isuru Udana(Left-Arm Medium)
20.  Vishwa Fernando(Left-Arm Fast-Medium)

Spinning all-rounder Jeewan Mendis has been named in the 20-man squad selected for the three-match T20 series against India. The series will be played after the ODI series which begins today in Dharamsala. Sri Lanka has named a full strength squad, having sent a depleted side to Pakistan after several first choice Sri Lankan cricketers refused to tour Lahore for the final T20.

Mendis, 34, last played a T20 international in 2013 but it’s not sure whether the former Thomian cricketer would make it to the final squad of 15.

The team captain by Thisara Perera will also see the return of Lasith Malinga who has been a spent force in recent months. With his impact diminishing, the selectors have not considered Malinga for the 50-over format in recent months.

Apart from seamer Suranga Lakmal, all the players in the current limited over squad are among the 20-man squad along with Dasun Shanaka, Isuru Udana and Vishwa Fernando. Kusal Mendis did not make it to the 20-man squad. A poor outing against Pakistan saw him being axed from the Test and ODI teams as well. The team will be pruned down to 15 later.

Leave a Comment