Nuwan Pradeep shines in Wayamba victory

Wayamba beat Kandurata-Uva Combined XI by 133 runs in the Sri Lanka Cricket Inter-Provincial Limited Over Tournament final  played at the NCC grounds in Colombo today.

Earlier Kandurata-Uva captain Thilina Kandamby won the toss and put Wayamba in. Brilliant centuries by wicket-keeper-batsman Niroshan Dickwella (104) and all-rounder Farveez Maharoof (112) lifted Wayamba to 348/4in 50 overs, which also included a cameo from skipper Jehan Mubarak (77), while Amil Perera took two for 80.

Chasing 349 for victory, Kandurata-Uva were bowled out for 215 in 38.4 overs. Nuwan Pradeep took 5/45 and Kosala Kulasekara picked two wickets to give Wayamba the victory in the final.

New chairman of selectors Sanath Jayasuriya attended the match.

Wayamba 348/ 4 in 50 overs (Maharoof 112,Dickwella 104, Mubarak 77, U Prasad 2/80)

Kandurata-Uva 215 all out in 38.4 overs (Kandamby 77, KSilva 60, Nuwan Pradeep 5/46)

Leave a Comment