Munaweera gave Uva Next SLPL T20 title despite Gayle absence

Uva Next the winner of SLPL T20 season 2012 closed their trophy drought in showers of rain along with thunders of Dilshan Munaweera who produced a charisma in chasing a challenging target of 135 runs from 15 overs given by Nagenahira Nagas in the final cricket match.

Uva was all favorite before rain interrupted the first innings during the 9th over, soon after resumption, game allowed 15 overs per side, Nagas was 49 for 4 but managed to get 135 runs target due the carnage of Angelo Mathews. Uva played 5.1 overs, scored 63 runs thanks to Dilshan Munaweera’s stunning batting that made Uva 19 runs ahead from Duckworth-lewis score before rain appeared again to play the rest overs of second innings.

Munaweera was selected as opening batsman for absent Chris Gayle who was announced as an icon player, but had serious injury just before the opening ceremony. As an opener, he framed the vacant space provided by Gayle superbly, and scored total 212 runs with 22 fours and 12 sixes in 7 matches of Sri Lanka Premier League season 2012. His special innings came in the final where he hammered 44 not out runs from 23 balls with 2 fours and 5 sixes that gave Uva Next not only the first SLPL T20 title but also confirmed birth in Champions League Twenty20.

Munaweera earned man of the match award in final, and on his impressive performance in domestic and league cricket he has been chosen in Sri Lankan Twenty20 squad for coming world cup T20.

Leave a Comment