Jayasuriya’s Twenty20 World Cup 2010 ticket in Sangakkara’s hands

Antigua - Gravy and Bring It team.jpg

"The national selectors met on Friday and narrowed the list of 30 down to twenty players," writes S.R. Pathiravithana for The Sunday Times.

He says that the final 20, of which only 15 will make it, are the following players: Upul Tharanga, Tillakeratne Dilshan, Sanath Jayasuriya, Kumar Sangakkara (captain), Mahela Jayawardena, Dinesh Chandimal, Chamara Kapugedera, Angelo Mathews, Tissara Perera, Muttiah Muralitharan, Suraj Randiv, Ajantha Mendis, Dilhara Fernando, Lasith Malinga, Chanaka Welagedera, Nuwan Kulasekera, Isuru Udana, Jeewan Mendis, Jeewantha Kulatunga and Chinthaka Jayasinghe.

ICC World Twnety20 2010
Will Jayasuriya be BRINGIN IT? Photo: © ICC.

According to Pathiravithana, Jayasuriya’s inclusion in the 15 man squad for the ICC World Twenty20 Championships in the West Indies next month is doubtful.

Here is a quote,

However still there is a question mark over the name of veteran 40-year-old Sanath Jayasuriya making it into the final fifteen. It is likely to be decided after a tele-conference with skipper Kumar Sangakkara who at present is in India engaged in the Indian premier League tournament and Coach Trevor Bayliss who is taking a break, back in Australia on Monday.

He also says that Dinesh Chandimal looks likely to be picked on his maiden tour for Sri Lanka. Read the full article here.

Leave a Comment