ICC Champions Trophy 2009 – Selection Blunder

Sri Lankan squad for the champion trophy is as follows.

Kumar Sangakkara (captain), Muttiah Muralitharan, Sanath Jayasuriya, Tillekeratne Dilshan, Mahela Jayawardena, Upul Tharanga, Thilan Samaraweera, Chamara Kapegedera, Angelo Mathews, Nuwan Kulasekera, Thilan Thushara Mirando, Thilina Kandamby, Dhammika Prasad, Ajantha Mendis, Lasith Malinga.

Including Upul Tharanga in the squad is a real blunder. Surely Sanath Jayasuriya and Dilshan will open the innings in every match. So why include Tharanga?

He will just be a passenger in this tour.

If one of the opening batter gets injured, someone like Mahela or Kumar can open. Tharanga’s place should have gone to a fast bowler, Maharoof or Dilhara Fernado.

Lasith Malinga was also not doing great in ODI matches recently. Maharoof has the batting ability too. He did well against touring Pakistan A team.

Leave a Comment